Multiplayer Hub Logo  
  Powered by Noble Master Games, http://www.noblemaster.com Multiplayer Dragon
  Forums Twitter Dev. Blog ⊕  
Home > Forums

MultiplayerHub.com
» Forums|New Posts
» Twitter
» Dev. Blog
» About
» Contact Us
Showcase
» Age of Conquest
» Demise of Nations
» Retro Commander

































Multiplayer Forums


Board index » Games » Other Games


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Beta Testers Welcome!
PostPosted: 07 Dec 2009, 12:16 
Freeman
Freeman

Joined: 03 Mar 2009, 00:37
Posts: 145
Hi all beta testers. I strongly recommend we keep the discussion about the beta here so it does not flood the other forum too much.

The links to the betas and registration have been mailed to you all. If you have not received any information pls mail me at

firepowerjohan@gmail.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beta Testers Welcome!
PostPosted: 07 Dec 2009, 12:37 
Knight
Knight
User avatar

Joined: 31 Jan 2008, 11:39
Posts: 1321
:partyyy: :gott: banana :kg:
Ok let spam here !
:headbash: :crazy: spanking :furz: :pssst:

_________________
Image
..............Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beta Testers Welcome!
PostPosted: 07 Dec 2009, 12:40 
Freeman
Freeman

Joined: 03 Mar 2009, 00:37
Posts: 145
Yep!
You damn right we can :kg:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beta Testers Welcome!
PostPosted: 07 Dec 2009, 12:47 
Serf
Serf

Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 12:40
Posts: 15
Hi everyone... I just got the email, downloaded and the file wouldn't unzip. This is from here:

http://www.worldempireslive.com/download/WEL_windows_0_61.zip

This computer is a fully patched, but otherwise unmodified vista and explorer won't open the file. I'll try on another computer tomorrow.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beta Testers Welcome!
PostPosted: 07 Dec 2009, 12:49 
Freeman
Freeman

Joined: 03 Mar 2009, 00:37
Posts: 145
I deleted the beta from server, had to change a minor installer setting. The beta should be up again in 40 minutes.

Beta is 155 megs roughly so was your file that size?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beta Testers Welcome!
PostPosted: 07 Dec 2009, 12:51 
Knight
Knight
User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007, 15:10
Posts: 2212
Location: Aevum Obscurum
I would like to confirm that there definitely seems to be a problem with the zip file. I can see only 1 file in the archive called "or" and it has a size of 0 bytes even though the zip file itself is about 8.2MB or so.

EDIT: You posted while I was still typing. Since you deleted the file, I guess that makes sense to why there is a problem with it. :D

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beta Testers Welcome!
PostPosted: 07 Dec 2009, 12:57 
Serf
Serf

Joined: 07 Dec 2009, 12:40
Posts: 15
Yeah, what I downloaded was 60 something megs...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beta Testers Welcome!
PostPosted: 07 Dec 2009, 13:00 
Knight
Knight
User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007, 15:10
Posts: 2212
Location: Aevum Obscurum
Man... what a c*ck tease this beta is... :P I was all excited :partyyy: , but now I'm sad. :(

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beta Testers Welcome!
PostPosted: 09 Dec 2009, 06:03 
Freeman
Freeman
User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2007, 12:02
Posts: 116
Location: Valhalla (Midgard on weekends)
I downloaded from the non-Windows link (I use a Mac, OSX):

"3) If you use Windows 7 or non windows OS use this link instead and pls read the license.txt text attached to this mail:
http://www.worldempireslive.com/downloa ... nstall.zip"


The folder unzipped fine and is about 250 MB (after unzipping). I opened the game by clicking on the "CNAW.class" icon which I assume starts up some kind of JAVA app?

The game opened up (beautiful artwork) and I was able to log-in and post something to the lobby chat. But I couldn't figure out how to start an actual game. Is this a bug or am I an **** or both?

:hilfe:

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beta Testers Welcome!
PostPosted: 09 Dec 2009, 06:15 
Freeman
Freeman

Joined: 03 Mar 2009, 00:37
Posts: 145
I assume you ran WEL.exe not the CNAW.class?
You click the "Host" button to start a game.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beta Testers Welcome!
PostPosted: 09 Dec 2009, 06:21 
Freeman
Freeman
User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2007, 12:02
Posts: 116
Location: Valhalla (Midgard on weekends)
Update on my idiocy:

OK, I see that there are "Join" or "Host" options at the bottom of the screen after I log-in. I assume I have to "Host" to start a new game? Or I can "Join" if someone else is hosting?

However, when I click "Host" I just get a black screen that doesn't change (such that I have to ESC or forcequit to get back to my desktop).

Any suggestions?

:partyyy: :motz: :headbash:

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beta Testers Welcome!
PostPosted: 09 Dec 2009, 06:24 
Freeman
Freeman
User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2007, 12:02
Posts: 116
Location: Valhalla (Midgard on weekends)
@FirepowerJohan:

Actually no, if I click "WEL.exe" icon my Mac tries to Expand/Extract the file and it fails (nothing happens).

If I click the "CNAW.class" icon, the game starts up.

Is something screwy here? Should I scrap the folder and re-download it?

:crazy:

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beta Testers Welcome!
PostPosted: 09 Dec 2009, 06:27 
Freeman
Freeman

Joined: 03 Mar 2009, 00:37
Posts: 145
Hi
I just updated the general beta info


Mac users who cannot run the WEL.exe should instead start the game by running the CNAW.class file using java virtual machine 1.4 with parameters -Xss4m -Xms350m -Xmx700m


You might have success also running windowed mode. Did game start up full screen for u?

in Document/World Empires Live/settings.txt

is a line saying

WINDOWED_MODE 0

change that to

WINDOWED_MODE 1

and save the file. Let me know if that works. Game is 1024x768.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beta Testers Welcome!
PostPosted: 09 Dec 2009, 07:34 
Knight
Knight
User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007, 15:10
Posts: 2212
Location: Aevum Obscurum
Just an FYI, a .exe will only run on Windows, not Linux or Mac. You may be able to get around this by installing WINE, but I have not tested this and it will most likely cause problems and slower performance.

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beta Testers Welcome!
PostPosted: 09 Dec 2009, 07:46 
Knight
Knight
User avatar

Joined: 09 Feb 2008, 07:12
Posts: 1003
Location: Manchester, England
I seem to be unable to test it because it won't let me host a game, the button is faded and when I hover over it a tooltip comes up and says "You cannot host behind a router".

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Green Smilies by http://www.greensmilies.com/

Home  |  Forums  |  Twitter  |  Dev. Blog  |  About  |  Contact